Catching Up

So I’ve fallen behind on some of my work.   I’ve been busy with some other school projects.  This means the list I’ve whittled down last week has grown considerably large again.

  • Consider creating a Twitter account in conjunction with your blog (not considering doing)
  • Comment on another student’s blog
  • Watch online lectures/readings
  • Complete lab by Friday
  • Watch two online lectures
  • Read document on Mercurial
  • Read up on GCC
  • Read the How to Make
  • Build Firefox
  • Pick a project
  • Complete the Initial Project Plan

While that list doesn’t look too much larger than last time, falling behind on readings isn’t too fun because you then have to do double the amount of readings.  As like last time, I’ve crossed off all the things I’ve done so far.  Let’s do a run down.

I’ve crossed off joining Twitter, even though I really haven’t joined.  I’m not too into the whole Twitter system.  While I understand that it may have closed some doors to a certain part of the community, I don’t think it’s expressly needed.  I believe I have access to what I need with the blogs, wikis and IRC channels.  I’m not too fond of Twitter so there will be no alerts following me.  If you really wish to follow me, you can just use the feeds on my blog as this is where I’ll be publishing the important parts of my work and life.

I’m always willing to leave a comment on a blog post that interests me.  It’s part of the whole blogging community.  I know it’s nice receiving feedback on what you’ve written, so it’s only natural to do so when you’re inspired by what someone’s written.  I did this on a blog post that a colleague of mine did.  I was initially on the fence about what project to work on.  I couldn’t decide on whether to help with Processing.js or to stick to my C/C++ programming background and work on some bugs there.  I was also thinking of working on the mobile side of Mozilla with Fennec.  Carlos‘ blog post gave me what it was I was I needed.  It was the inspiration to work on something new and innovative.  Also, the courage to learn a new language and a new style of coding.  So with that, I was able to cross two items off my list.  I put my name down for Processing.js!

I finished my lab, albeit a little late, with the help of buddhatron through IRC.  My page on the CDOT wiki is now updated.  In the process, I was able to use pastebin and tinyurl as was part of the learning experience for the lab.

Now, the rest of my catching up had to do with a lot of reading and watching online lectures.  My first online lecture, about the Mozilla Community, would cause my Firefox browser to crash.  I was able to start it up at school but couldn’t at home because I hadn’t downloaded and installed Quicktime.  I talked to David about it and he said he was switching the video formats.  So hopefully, I’ll be able to see it soon.

The next online lecture I watched was called “Learning to be at the festival.”  It was a lecture given by David Humphrey and it’s a great summary for what he’s been trying to teach us during the first couple weeks of this course.  The best way to learn in the environment of the Open Source Community is to just jump right in and get your hands dirty.  You learn through experience.  It’s a great lecture for anyone apprehensive about the course work and project, which I’m sure most of us are.

I watched this week’s lectures as well.  They were not as interesting to me.  They were How the Mozilla Build Works by J. Paul Reed and Mozilla’s Build System by Ted Mielczarek.  As you can guess, they were both about Mozilla’s build system and how it works behind the scenes.  I couldn’t run the video for preed’s lecture so I just listened to the sound recording.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t follow along too well because the slides posted aren’t available anymore.  Ted’s video lecture was better, in terms of being able to access it.  However, I noticed that I wasn’t paying attention too much to either lecture.  While I can understand that being knowledgeable in what you’re diving into is important, I just wasn’t interested in the behind the scenes work.  For me, it’s kind of like Discovery channel’s How It’s Made.  It just wasn’t very interesting.  I sat through them though, not absorbing all too much.

The stuff I haven’t crossed out, I’m in the process of doing.  I was in the middle of going through the GCC reading, when I spotted another blog post that inspired me to just dive right in.  So I decided to take the first plunge and while writing this blog I was downloading and installing my virtual machine courtesy of VirtualBox.  I, then, downloaded Fedora to install on the vm.  It’s now running smoothly in the background, minus the fact that I can’t change the resolution past 800×600.  Anyone have suggestions or is this the limitation of a vm?  Anyway, I’m going to start on Mercurial and then try to build Mozilla.  I’ll update more later!

Leave a Reply

