0.7 release

I was a little hard-pressed for this week’s release.  Mainly because I thought the release to be next week.  I did have some stuff done before but I wasn’t in much of a rush to finish it, until I found out it was to be out this Monday morning.  I got in gear but still had much trouble with beginCamera() and endCamera().  The functions you see there seem pretty simple but having to use the inverse of camera threw me for a loop.  I had to look for the problem everywhere in the code.  At one point, I rewrote the whole invert function only to find out it was working properly.  Some key objects I was missing were dependent on deprecated functions.  At least, the code within the Processing native said they were to be removed from the future.  In that sense, my colleague decided it wasn’t needed in PJS.  I quite agree with him still.  It’s not completely needed, some of those inverse functions anyway.  I could and will probably recycle some of the regular functions and just apply the inverse.  I did add them all for now though.

That’s not all there is to it either.  As I was submitting an example through git, I found a bug that still currently resides with my checked-in code.  It may seem like it works properly, but insert a camera() function in there and the changes don’t take.  That is definitely a problem because suppose it’s put in a draw{} statement.  It wouldn’t have an anchor that can put it back to place… it’ll just continue to transform.  It’s somewhat of a big bug that I can’t finish tonight.  I’m leaving it up to the reviewers to pass or fail.  I doubt it’s going to pass… I’m not sure I would pass it either.

On a lighter note, I was able to finish the dist-3d days ago.  I was just so wrapped up with beginCamera() and endCamera() that I never wrote the tests for it.  I wrote my first unit tests earlier today and it was a breeze.  I’m definitely glad that was added to the PJS scope.  It definitely makes unit tests much easier.

Anyway, off to bed.  Maybe someone will have read this blog and figured out a way to help me with the camera.  Dave was right.  It was my fault for waiting til the last second to ask for help.  I’ll blog more soon… still have to get PGraphics off the ground.

Leave a Reply

